Coming up on Saturday at the Described Movies: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 and The Muppet Christmas Carol

From this Saturday at 12am Eastern, that’s 4pm Saturday in NZ, 2pm in Sydney and 5am in the UK, and repeated every four hours throughout the day, it’s the described movies Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 from 2010 and The Muppet Christmas Carol from 1992.
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 is a 2010 fantasy film directed by David Yates and distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures.
It is the first of two cinematic parts based on J. K. Rowling's 2007 novel of the same name and the seventh instalment in the Harry Potter film series.
It was written by Steve Kloves and produced by David Heyman, David Barron, and Rowling and features an ensemble cast.
The film stars Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter, with Rupert Grint and Emma Watson, respectively, reprising roles as Harry's best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger.
It is the sequel to Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009) and is followed by the concluding entry, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 (2011).
The story follows Harry Potter, who has been asked by Dumbledore to find and destroy Lord Voldemort's secret to immortality – the Horcruxes.
Filming began on 19 February 2009 and was completed on 12 June 2010.
Part 1 was released in 2D cinemas and IMAX formats worldwide on 19 November 2010.
The film received positive reviews with critics praising its performances, cinematography, visual effects and musical score.
In the film's worldwide opening weekend, Part 1 grossed $330 million, the third-highest in the series, and the highest opening of 2010, as well as the eighth-highest of all time.
With a worldwide gross of $977 million, Part 1 is the third-highest-grossing film of 2010, behind Toy Story 3 and Alice in Wonderland, and the third-highest-grossing Harry Potter film in terms of worldwide totals, behind Deathly Hallows – Part 2 and Philosopher's Stone (2001).
Additionally, it received two nominations at the 83rd Academy Awards: Best Art Direction and Best Visual Effects.
Directed by: David Yates.
Screenplay by: Steve Kloves.
Based on: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling.
Produced by: David Heyman, David Barron and J. K. Rowling.
Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Helena Bonham Carter, Robbie Coltrane, Warwick Davis, Ralph Fiennes, Michael Gambon, Brendan Gleeson, Richard Griffiths, John Hurt, Jason Isaacs, Alan Rickman, Fiona Shaw, Timothy Spall, Imelda Staunton, David Thewlis and Julie Walters.
Cinematography: Eduardo Serra.
Edited by: Mark Day.
Music by: Alexandre Desplat.
Production companies: Warner Bros. Pictures and Heyday Films.
Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures.
Release date: 11 November 2010 ( Odeon Leicester Square) and 19 November 2010 (United Kingdom and United States).
File Length: 140 minutes.
Countries: United Kingdom and United States.
Language: English.
Budget: $250 million (shared with Part 2).
Box office: $977 million.
The Muppet Christmas Carol is a 1992 American Christmas musical fantasy comedy drama film directed by Brian Henson (in his feature directorial debut) from a screenplay by Jerry Juhl.
The fourth theatrical film in The Muppets franchise, it was the first film to be produced following the deaths of Muppets creator Jim Henson and performer Richard Hunt, with the film being dedicated to both of them.
Adapted from the 1843 novella A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, it stars Michael Caine as Ebenezer Scrooge, alongside Muppet performers Dave Goelz, Steve Whitmire, Jerry Nelson, and Frank Oz portraying various roles.
Although artistic license is taken to suit the aesthetic of the Muppets, The Muppet Christmas Carol otherwise follows Dickens's original story closely.
The film was released in the United States on 11 December, 1992, by Buena Vista Pictures Distribution.
It received modest box office success and mostly positive reviews.
It is the first Muppets film to be produced by Walt Disney Pictures, whose parent company acquired the Muppets franchise in 2004.
Directed by: Brian Henson.
Screenplay by: Jerry Juhl.
Based on: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.
Produced by: Brian Henson and Martin G. Baker.
Starring: Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, The Great Gonzo, Rizzo the Rat, Fozzie Bear, Michael Caine, Dave Goelz, Steve Whitmire, Jerry Nelson and Frank Oz.
Cinematography: John Fenner.
Edited by: Michael Jablow.
Music by: Miles Goodman.
Production companies: Walt Disney Pictures and Jim Henson Productions.
Distributed by: Buena Vista Pictures Distribution.
Release date: 11 December , 1992.
File Length: 82 minutes.
Country: United States.
Language: English.
Budget: $12 million.
Box office: $27.2 million.
Any questions, comments, or ideas for future described movies: e-mail me: anthony at mushroomfm dot com (e-mail address written that way to cut down on
Enjoy the movies,